News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Two Questions regarding my Automatic Electric AE 80 Desk Telephone

Started by Telephonemans Daughter, December 08, 2012, 11:16:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Telephonemans Daughter

Hello all!  I'm new to the forums and have been reading them for about a month now.  Before starting this post, I first searched to see if I could find an answer already posted but found nothing for this make/model.  I came close with one response but it was a wall phone for this brand.

I'm new to the collecting phones and cleaning them up, so any and all help is greatly appreciated.

I bought an Automatic Electric Northlake Il desktop phone off of ebay.  

Question #1 - It both calls out and receives calls, but there was no ring when I tested it.  After I opened her up and rang through again, I noticed that the hammer between the bells was indeed vibrating, just barely though, like it wasn't getting enough juice.  I'm not sure what the model of this is though.  

Here is the picture of the back

And here is the front

Question #2 - I can't figure out how to remove the dial plate.  It doesn't have the "hole" on the dial plate to put a pin in like you would on other desktop phones (which I have others and have removed them all with no problems).  I really examined this one and I cannot figure out how you remove this one.  I will say this about this phone, it has a really cool way of popping off the complete dial head without screws.  I found that really nice, but dang this dial plate.  I want to clean this baby up and don't want to crack this thing.

Any help on getting the ringing to ring and the dial plate off would be greatly appreciated.   :)
"Hello, Hello, the Telephone Man says Hello."  This was how my dad always greeted you when he called.

AE_Collector

Welcome to the rotary forum!