"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Rotary phone recording.

Started by Smooth765, December 05, 2008, 09:25:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Smooth765

Hey, I am new to the fourm.
I was just wondering if you guys new of a way to record the phone calls with some soert of recorder that would hook up to a rotary phone?
The reason I ask this is because, not to post them on the internet, it's just to see what the quality would b like.
Thanks for any replys/help you guys might have.
Rotary phones are the greatest!

bingster

They used to make little suction devices that stuck to the back of the transmitter portion of a handset, and which could be plugged into any tape recorder.  Not sure if they make them anymore or not.

Recording telephone conversations is a really dicey thing, though.  The moment the other person picks up the phone, you have to tell them they're being recorded.  There's a serious Federal charge if you don't.  You used to have to transmit a clearly audible beeping tone every so many seconds throughout the call, but I don't think that's required anymore. Not sure, though.
= DARRIN =

Smooth765

I was thinking of this,
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2123175
But would you need a recorder with a remote jack?
Or could you just start the recorder yourself, then pick up the phone?
Thanks.
Rotary phones are the greatest!

gpo706

I picked one of these sucker things from Maplins (kinda like Radio Shake), for £4.95 hooked it to my 500 and a Sony 1/4" reel to reel just for dramatic effect, any how results were inconclusive, but the sucker is SO handy for removing stubborn GPO 706/746 dial lable covers!
"now this should take five minutes, where's me screwdriver went now..?"

Phonesrfun