"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Western Electric 302 Setup Advice needed

Started by VictoryHighway, January 02, 2015, 09:09:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

VictoryHighway

Greetings,
I'm relatively new to telephone collecting and I've recently bought a Western Electric 302 on eBay (for a pretty good price, I might add), but I'm having some trouble getting it up and running.  I was hoping that users on this forum might be able to help.  According to the seller, the phone was fully restored, tested and fully functional.

When the phone arrived at my house, I connected it to my home line (which is a Verizon FiOS Digital Voice service).  The seller had already converted it to have a modular line cord, which was nice even though it's something I could've done myself.

I have so far discovered two issues with the phone.  First, when I attempt to dial, it will not break the dial tone.  Second, when a call comes in, I can hear the ringer moving, but it is either not striking the bells or isn't striking the bells hard enough to ring.  I've already opened the phone up and looked at the ringer.  The bells were screwed in very tightly, so I thought that might be the cause of the "no ring".  So, I loosened the screws a little bit, but to no avail.

Now, I know what you're thinking.  "You're not using a regular POTS line."  Well, that's certainly true.  However, I have a Western Electric 500 phone already, and it works perfectly with this phone service.  It both dials properly and rings (beautifully, I might add!)

So, I need some advice about this 302.  Does the 302 ringer require higher current than the 500 ringer?  Should I try buying a Rotatone for my new 302 (or is there something else that I can do to fix the ringer)?  Or should I just contact the eBay seller and return the 302 (it's still within the seller's return period)?

Regards,
Geoffrey

Doug Rose