News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

302 dial cardholder ring removal?

Started by HobieSport, November 02, 2008, 10:03:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

HobieSport

How do we remove the cardholder ring in the center of the 5H dial?  I see two pair of holes on each side of the ring.  Special tool?  Special trick?  I'm a beginner and sure don't want to mess it up. I searched the forum and elsewhere and couldn't find the answer.  I am at your mercy...  :P  -Matt

Dennis Markham

Matt,

There are two tabs that hold the retainer ring onto the finger wheel.  The one at the top of the wheel is smaller than the one on the bottom.  Carefully, using a finger nail just squeeze down on the upper tab and pull it away from the wheel, toward you.  It will be obvious how it attaches after that.  Often you see them scratched where people use a sharp object, like a screw drive to pry down on the tab.  Let me know if you need an illustration, I can send a photo.

Dennis

benhutcherson

Take a small screwdriver and push down on the top part of the ring, near the top slot. You can then lift the top part forward, and you should be able to lift the whole thing loose.

HobieSport

bingster

Be careful when replacing the ring.  Push inward on that little tab BEFORE you begin pushing the ring down into place.  Otherwise, it's very easy to scrape the paint of the fingerwheel when replacing the ring.
= DARRIN =

Netdewt

Is this procedure similar for a 554?

Dennis Markham

Netdewt, it is the same if you are talking about a metal finger wheel.  If the dial card retainer ring is plastic, be extremely careful.  I have broken tab by pushing too hard.  Once that happens you may as well start shopping for a replacement.

Netdewt

I have a black 554 with metal dial, so is the dialcard ring metal also?

Dennis Markham