News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Couple of questions on the WE 500

Started by Eric CRX, November 25, 2012, 04:24:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Eric CRX

Hi folks, I'm new to rotary phones and new to the forum. I said hey over in the new member forum but I have a few issues that I'm not sure about.

The 1st pic I have drawn (crudely) arrows pointing to wires that appear clipped and go to nowhere. All 4 are just laying around and I wondered if they served a purpose because I wanted to remove them if I can. Cleans up wire clutter and gives me a few parts. So what purpose would they serve?

Also the second pic should show the finger wheel. Now I got it taken apart but with respect to the dial card, I know it would go on top of the metal piece but there is no plastic. Should this phone have some type of clear plastic covering the dial card? Also what would be the purpose of the notches and circular cutout in the metal piece? I hope I've given enough info and asked understandable questions.

I appreciate any info.
Thanks
Eric

poplar1

Is it marked on the bottom L/M 500 instead of the usual C/D 500?

The 500M could be used on a key system (multi-line phones with hold button and 2 or more lines); the 2 gray cloth wires on the terminal strip were originally connected to the yellow and black line cord wires so that when you used this phone, the lamps on the multi-line phones would show that the line was in use. The blue and white were spares but could also be used for example to isolate the ringer from the line.

My guess is that someone replaced the original 6-conductor cord and the previous 6-conductor (green, red, black, yellow, white, blue) 623D jack with the current 3-conductor (green, red, yellow) 623D jack.

The phone is not wired correctly. The red tie from a plastic bag  is of course not original.

Yellow line wire from the 623D goes on G.