"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

AE-80? pics

Started by RB, August 02, 2018, 03:29:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RB

Got this at an antique store for $15
Does anybody know where to get the plastic ring that goes around the bottom?
Is this a good phone? first time owning one.

FABphones

AE 40?

The Matrix phone. Love them, one of my top 3 phones on the favourite list. Chrome bands too - nice.

Good find, good price.  :)

* I'm still learning my way around phones on your side of the pond. Some very very nice designs over there..  :D
A collector of  'Monochrome Phones with Sepia Tones'   ...and a Duck!
Vintage Phones - 10% man made, 90% Tribble

stub

RB,
       Your phone is a AE 40 with updated (81) transmitter and the right (41) receiver . It will work fine with these in it . You can get the base gasket from Gary Golf    gdgoff@gmail.com  . Send him a e-mail and tell him you need the base gasket for a AE 40 and he will tell you if he has any and how much. Hope this helps.  stub
Kenneth Stubblefield

RB

jsowers

Old Phone Shop has the AE40 rubber gasket for $21.50, which is more than you paid for the phone.

http://www.oldphoneshop.com/products/automatic-electric-monophone-34-and-40-stromberg-carlson-1212-bottom-rubber-gasket.html

Others may know a cheaper supplier or a way to make your own gasket. I remember Gary Goff having them once, but I'm not sure if he still sells them. (edit) I see Stub has already provided that information. Thanks, Stub!