News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Western-Electric-Stromberg-Carlson-Model-202-1928-Base Only

Started by Doug Rose, September 28, 2020, 10:03:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Doug Rose

I found this on eBay last week and received it this morning. It was advertised as NOS and I think it is. It is grey, but I think it had not been painted yet. I do like the grey!!

It was unassembled, but that was just two screws into the base and aligning the plunger. I am a tech!  :o

This came out about the time that WE A1s did, and are known as the SC A1.

Just amazing to find this NOS.

Any thoughts on this? ..... Doug

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Western-Electric-Stromberg-Carlson-Model-202-1928-Base-only-and-clicker-NOS-/303704045026?
Kidphone

Doug Rose

I did not have the correct SC handset, so I used a Stanley Patterson from the same era which used SC parts. No choice but to use a Western Dial Blank as I had nothing close that would fit.

I am happy with the result....Doug
Kidphone

Jack Ryan

Not very common these. For the record, it is a Stromberg Carlson 1178 Hand Set Telephone.

I don't know exactly when it was released - after 1927 and by 1930 - so it is contemporary with the WE B Handset Mounting (late '27) and the AE 1 ('25).

I assume this must have been before some of the manufacturers had cottoned on to aesthetics. A WE A Handset mounting and a SC 1178 Hand Set Telephone don't appear to be in the same league as the AE 1 (with the proper AE 1 handset). The 1178 does, however, have its own charm.

Regards
Jack

Doug Rose

Thanks Jack...great info. I love the look of these phones....right place right time....Doug
Kidphone

rdelius