News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Subset problem

Started by jdwilker, March 10, 2012, 09:14:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jdwilker

I'm a newbie on this forum and would appreciate any advice.  I have a WE 51AL hooked up to a 295A subset. Recently it stopped working and I noticed that when I connect it to the line, the ringer is energized (moves the ringer to one side) and the line acts as if the receiver is off the hook even though it isn't. Since this condition exists even if the phone is disconnected from the subset, it must be the subset. And since the only components in it are a ringer, a coil and a condenser, my guess is the the No. 21 D condenser has broken down.
Am I right and if so, where could I find a replacement?

HowardPgh

jdwilker-
Your diagnosis sounds good for this symptom.
You probably have to find a junker subset for the part.
I don't know what the value of the 21D condenser is. (1 mFd or 2 mFd).
You may be able to find some smaller value capacitors (.47mFd)  and wire them in parallel to reach the desired value. mFd= uFd
Exact value isn't critical as long as your close, the old ones vary a lot in value.
They are probably small enough in size to put in the 21D can.
Good luck in your repair.
Howard

jdwilker

Thanks so much for the reply Howard.  A couple of followup questions:
- I haven't taken the 21D can apart. Are they electrolytic or other composition?
- What voltage value do you think would be safe?

dpaynter1066

200v non electrolytic.

Newark electronics sells new made capacitors and will sell small quantities to individuals, also Jameco electronics.  Others may have minimum orders.  You can wrap the gaudy colored plastic capacitor in  dark grey construction paper etc and a spot of white glue to make it inconspicious.  leave the disconnected bad cap in place for show.