News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

ringer box will it work with todays volatge and how should it be wired?(FIXED!)

Started by Dave Beck, January 28, 2014, 07:09:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dave Beck

O.K. everyone, please understand you are dealing with a real newbie here. I actually used to repair teletype equipment while in the air national guard, but that was Many years ago, so my knowledge of phones is very limited. I have a few phones that do not have a ringer, so in my infinite wisdom  I bought a small wooden ringer box hoping that would work for me, now I am not sure.

There are 2 terminals on the outside of the box where the connections are made there are 2 coils and a magnet on the ringer itself.

Let me know if I can actually use this or is it going to be a display piece?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Dave

poplar1

These extension ringers usually don't have a capacitor. If yours doesn't, then you will need to wire one in series with the ringer before connecting it to the line. Can you post pictures of your ringer?
"C'est pas une restauration, c'est une rénovation."--François Martin.

Dave Beck

Attached are pictures of the coils and ringer assembly. No capacitors. Can I adapt any other type of ringer system to fit in the little box, thinking about a we 302 base, take it apart and arrange parts.

Phonesrfun

The one in the ebay auction is made for outside and they tend to be pretty loud.  But yes, that is made to be connected to a phone line. 

Western did make a couple of stand-alone ringers.  One looks like a 685A subset, but is a ringer only and I can't remember the model.  The other one is an E1 ringer that was often paired up with the early pricness phones that had no internal ringer.  Other manufacturers made stand-alone ringers too.