News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Wall phone mounting height?

Started by Mr. Bones, December 15, 2012, 11:19:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mr. Bones

Good morning to one and all, and happy Saturday!

I know that we have a wealth of former TelCo folks here, with centuries of collective experience, to give me some simple information to assist with the placement of my '61 554.

As a standard practice, and I'm sure that there will be myriad answers, what is / was the standard height above floor level that you were directed, by BSPs, etc., to install wall telephones? Specifically, I am referring to older standard practices for 354s / 554s in the pre-ADA era.

I know, for instance, that 'typical' light switch height is 48", but as an electrician, I have seen and done many different heights as required / requested by specs or customer wishes.

Based on 'standard' light switch height, my eyeball tells me ± 5 ft/60" to the center of the phone, but I'd love to get some feedback, and learn some history from those of you who did this for a living for many years / decades.

Thanks in advance, and enjoy your weekend!

Sláinte!
   Mr. Bones
      Rubricollis Ferus

poplar1

This doesn't answer your question about 354s and 554s:

[For the older phones with separate transmitter and receiver:]

"Locating Wall Sets

"3.15 If satisfactory to subscriber, mount wall type sets with
center of transmitter (face vertical) approximately
56-1/2 inches above the floor. This assumes that the user will
be standing while using the telephone as is the case in the
majority of the installations. Where, however, the subscriber
will sit on a chair or other seat when using the telephone,
mount set so that center of transmitter will be approximately
25-1/2 inches above the top of chair seat."