"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

German W48A

Started by UglySteve, November 13, 2018, 10:08:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

UglySteve

Hi,
I'm new to this site, this is my first post.
I picked up a few phones this week. This is my German W48A. Sorry for the quality of the schematics, they are just a little bigger than a postage stamp. I'm not sure of how it should be connected. I connected the green and red wires to terminals A & B, and it seems to work. It doesn't sound great, and the transmitted sound is not very loud.  I don't know what company made it, I don't see a Siemens logo. I'm relatively new to phone collecting, I have 5 now.

Steve

LarryInMichigan

It looks like it was made by Krone.  The 'a' and 'b' terminals would be where the two line would would connect.  There are several possible reasons why the sound from the transmitter would be weak.  It could be that the transmitter is bad.  I have a number of European transmitters which do not work well.  You can try removing the transmitter and tapping it on a hard surface to loosen compacted carbon granules and see if that helps.

Larry

UglySteve

Thank you for the information, Larry. I will try banging the transmitter.
Steve

Welcome to CRPF, Steve.

dsk

Welcome Steve!
As Larry says European phones unfortunately had not the same reliable carbon transmitters as W.E. had.   Many (but far from all) of the European phones also has a circuit pretty equal to yours, where a part of the DC current passes trough the balance circuit, and are not used in the transmitter. Replacing the transmitter with a W.E. transmitter may sometimes result in weak signal, but you may try.

dsk

FABphones

Hi and welcome. You have found the best forum for all things telephone.

Take a look here:
http://www.britishtelephones.com/siemens/w48.htm

Good info, clear photos and schematic/wiring info.  :)

Let us know how you get on.