News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

First post- 1963 US army "unclassified" Western Electric phone

Started by Btee, October 05, 2010, 09:52:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Btee

Hello all! I am new to the phone world, but not new to the old stuff collecting.

I am mainly a vacuum collector. I have 29 vacuum cleaners currently, ranging from a 1919 hoover, to a 2009 Sanitaire.

I also collect fans. I have a 1925 Dayton 367 16" desktop brass wing. And a 1950s westinghouse 8".

Well my grandpa is the one who gave me this most interesting WE phone. He lives in a 1915 historical Mansion here in Omaha Nebraska. Hes got more stuff in there, that every time I find something cool. I have taken two of probably a dozen vacuum cleaners in his house, the 50s westinghouse fan was from his garage. And this telephone is just one of many in the basement.

This phone is a 1963 Western Electric 500 series "service corps" US army issue phone.

Id like to find out more of this phones history and rarity.

Another member posted here earlier asking about a switch under the handset holder. I dont know what it is yet, as I dont have an adaptor for the phone to use on a modern jack.

The sticker on the front reads-
Fire
Unclassified
Only
*and some other numbers including a date*

These pictures are pre deep clean. The phone at one point had tape holding the reciever on and the cord taped on, probably during a move.

The base has no big scratches. Just little ones that can be buffed out. [i mg]http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/7R5xPKf-tTBWVKthZdm3wgrZW5GCTNdt5djG8sov4Z8?feat=directlink[/i mg]

Btee

Another pic.

This is the cord. The ringer/sound wire is disconnected. I will reattach it soon. Dont know what the original cord would have looked like. This wire is like 70 feet long. A bit excessive!

Phonesrfun