and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Am I Missing Something?

Started by Nick in Manitou, November 30, 2012, 12:14:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nick in Manitou

Sold 11-29-12 for $301
http://www.ebay.com/itm/190757886651

I am really pretty new to this, but is this 302 different from the one I purchased a while back for under $20? 

Sure mine has not gotten cleaned and polished up yet, but surely there is something about this 302 that is special?

As I said, I am new to this so please fill me in!

Thanks,
Nick

Phonesrfun

You're not missing a thing, except the opportunity to spend a fortune on a phone of much smaller value.  The key ingredient was a good sales job and willing bidders.  Nothing else.
-Bill G

AE_Collector

And of course there are buyers who have no interest or ability to restore a phone but they recognise an old phone that they had when they were young and want to buy one that looks like new and is guaranteed to work and be "Plug and Play".

There are many on this forum that do restorations such as this and while $20 to $300 is a big difference in price, the seller likely put many many hours into it for a meager return when you look at it that way.

Someone who wants a ready to go Antique phone for the Livingroom and us collectors, hobbyists, tinkerers are two different things.

Terry  

Phonesrfun

And I agree with Terry.  A person who has put hours into cleaning and restoring a phone does deserve a return on his or her work.  Nothing wrong with that.  Many of us here, however, would like to restore our own and have that satisfaction.
-Bill G

AE_Collector

There are likely 1967 Ford Mustangs out there for sale at $1000 and others at $100,000. Same difference.

Terry

Phonesrfun

I wish I still had my 64-1/2 that I bought from my dad in 1970, which he bought brand new in 1964.
-Bill G

AE_Collector