News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

WE500 L/M works fine but headset/receiver sounds too low

Started by maduvs, September 04, 2017, 09:16:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

maduvs

Hi! it´s my first time here, Im from brazil and bought a black Pacific State WE500 L/m some years ago by ebay, it works fine, just needed a good cleaning, but the sound in the headset is not the ideal, I almost need to scream so the other person can hear me but I listen them normally (as clear as crystal). I have no experience with eletronics, but already opened it and cleaned (with acetone in the connectors), replaced the headset cord, but none of this solve the problem...

Anyone with the same situation or with an idea what else can I do to normalize it?

Some extra infos: it´s connected with an ADSL microfilter; It´s the only rotary phone in the house, the other one is a digital cordless phone. Have no spare headset to replace.

Maria

jsowers

Maria, welcome to the Forum!

You may just need a new T1 transmitter element, but all the ones I've found on US eBay who ship to Brazil charge something like $27-$40 shipping for that tiny part, which is ridiculous. I don't suppose there's a South American eBay or some other source more local to you that would have American telephones?

You could try rapping the transmitter on top of a countertop a few times, to loosen the carbon granules. It's certainly worth a try, just in case.