"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Newbie Here !

Started by jiggerman, June 04, 2009, 09:13:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jiggerman

Hello,
           Stumbled across this site about a month or so ago. I'm very impressed with the number of knowledgeable and passionate collectos here. I've always liked the look of the rotary phones and after checking this site I decided to start my own collection.  I live in Quebec, Canada and garage sales just started a couple of weeks ago. I didn't find any the first 2 weekends but did pick-up four this last Saturday.  I guess people around there don't want their old phones, the most expensive was $3.00 and the others were $2.00 each. They are not very old but a very nice start to my collection. The first is a Stromberg-Carlson, Apr 1978. #2 Northern Telecom 1978 500AX .  #3 Automatic Electric, no date.  #4 Northern Telecom NE-500. This is a great site and I want to thank everyone for their time and hard work.  James

http://s281.photobucket.com/albums/kk222/jiggermanca/phone/?action=view&current=phone.jpg&newest=1

AET

Hiya James!  Looks like you've been bitten by the bug already!  These are very nice phones you have and I wish you very happy collecting as you get into it more!
- Tom

Dan

Nice finds. Welcome. I thought I would stop around 10 or 20 but when you find ANY rotary phone for a buck or two, it's really hard to say no. Heck the brass bells are worth that much in scrap(heaven forbid anyone would ever do this to a phone!).

I wish I could find an AE80 at a yard sale. I have two AE90's (wall version )but no deskset version yet.

"Imagine how weird telephones would look if our ears weren't so close to our mouths." - Steven Wright

Ellen

Wow!  I like the surface - formica?  glass? on that radio / stereo cabinet.  That is very beautiful.

Steve

Welcome to the forum Jiggerman. thats a good start , some nice phones there.