News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

"Exploding the Phone", by Phil Lapsley

Started by Phonesrfun, May 21, 2013, 01:28:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Phonesrfun

Ok, how do I not sound like I am being paid to promote the book.  I am not, by the way.

Greg a.k.a. "Brinybay" on this forum recommended it to me, and I believe there have been some other discussions of this elsewhere in the forum.  Myself, I was a kid growing up in the 1960's and I was in high school between 1965 and 1969, and I studied radio & electronics classes and I had a ham radio licence.  I was kind of a nerd.

My neighbor and I had a phone line between our houses and we used to each call directory assistance via direct dialing the area code, followed by 555-1212.  We would each call directory assistance in two remote cities, for instance Atlanta and New York and then we would connect the two together via our tie line and sit back and listen to the two of them figure out how they got connected.  I remember on more than one occasion a directory assistance operator saying that it must be one of those black boxes.  I did not know what a black box was at the time.

I also figured out that you could hook a capacitor up to the line and while the phone was on-hook, you could hear the person calling you talking in-between rings, as long as you didn't pick up the phone, there was a free phone call.  I didn't know others had figured that out too.

In our circle of friends we found the loop circuits or pick-up lines where it seemed that half the town's teen- agers wer on the phone at the same time.

I called it playing on the phone, because that's what my parents called it.

The interesting thing about this book is that even though I did not figure out the tones and the ways to get real free long distance, it was at a time when I do remember the tones on the lines from inband signaling.