"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Need help w/ a 302 ringer

Started by djtownsend, September 29, 2011, 05:38:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

djtownsend

All,

I'm refurbishing a WE 302 and I just can't get the bell to ring.  I know the bell itself works because I've removed it and hooked it up to a magneto and it rings.  I have the red wire hooked to L1 and the black wire hooked to the little black connection box which is also mated with a yellow wire from the condenser (the long silver thing w/ 4 wires coming out of it).  Hey, I'm a rookie.   ;)  Anyways, I have a working 302 and have it wired exactly like the working one.  I also made sure that wires from the dial are not pressing down on the ringer.  Even tried it with the top off to ensure the dial wires weren't interfering.  I also switched the two yellow wires from the 'condenser' but no luck. 

Can anyone give me some suggestions?  I've built and sold a 302 in the past and the only problem was that the dial wires were pressing down on the ringer so it didn't work.  The phone gets a dial tone and the dial works too.  It's just that dang ringer.  I even swapped the condenser but that may still be the problem but I don't know how to test those.

HELP!!!   I can provide pics if needed.

Any help provided would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks.

Dan

djtownsend

By the way, I cleaned all connections in the phone w/ a dremel tool w/ a wire brush so they are nice and shiny. 

Grasping for straws here.

Thanks.

Dan

winkydink

Have you tried to remove the ringer from the phone that does not ring, and install it into a 302 the currently does ring.  The scientist in me says to change only 1 variable (the ringer) at a time. 

If the ringer works in a different phone, then you can eliminate that physical piece of hardware as the culprit.

winkydink