News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

What do i have and where to start

Started by jcar302, April 12, 2011, 10:43:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jcar302

Hey guys, have this old phone that i would like to restore and make work at home.

I normally toy with cars as a hobby, but i'll dabble in anything that will keep me busy.

I really don't know too much.
Appears from some research it is a Western Electric.
The vault door is no where to be found, everything you see is what i have.

I really have no clue where to begin restoring or testing it.
I'm an electrician so i would think i have most tools necessary to work on it.

Any help is appreciated.
Thanks,
Joe

Sargeguy

Hello,
What you have is a 233G Western Electric 3-slot payphone. These are commonly found without the vault doors and locks, which were removed when the phone was removed from service.   Payphones are a lot more complicated than typical phones.  This phone required a special line which does not exist anymore.  It will not dial or receive calls without modification.  There are two things yoiu can do:

There is a  device that will mimic the functionality of an old pay phone that costs around $200.   You will also need a 685 subset ringer box if you want it to ring on incoming calls (not all payphones accepted incoming calls).  In order for this to work you will need to make sure that your phone is properly wired.  Wiring schematics are available at the TCI Library.  Hopefully all the mechanical parts are operational.

Another option is to modify the phone to ring on a modern line.  There are a few different ways to do so, with different levels of functionality.  

This link is a good place to start:  http://www.porticus.org/bell/telephones-payphones-233G.html
Greg Sargeant
Providence, RI
TCI /ATCA #4409

Phonesrfun