"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

What Kind of Scam is This?

Started by LarryInMichigan, May 26, 2019, 11:40:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LarryInMichigan

www.ebay.com/itm/372673615067

The seller otherwise looks to be legitimate (though his spelling could be better).  This radio should have sold for under $100.

Larry

tubaman

Bizarre - all bidders with zero history.  Definitely looks like a scam.
???

RB

and for 6k???
whut the fish?
How do they expect ANYBODY to bid on that??

countryman

I wonder who'll pay the ebay fee for that one?

Dan/Panther

I've been collecting antique radios for about 15 years. I have never seen a single radio regardless of brand, model, or condition, that sold anywhere near that.
Then another shows up, so some sucker can say WOW ! another chance at a $6000.00 radio.
Shill bidding at it's worst.

D/P

The More People I meet, The More I Love, and MISS My Dog.  Dan Robinson

jsowers

Dan, look at this auction for a restored Philco Radio Bar that sold at almost twice the amount this table model brought, $12,500, two days before...

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Philco-Radio-Bar-RadioBar-Restored-Art-Deco-Located-in-ohio-/222628965090?oid=254069785103

Radios do sometimes reach the tens of thousands. It was evidently a BIN and the shipping alone is $1,145. Don't anyone go fiddling with the URL because the above one shows the "SOLD" banner over the picture and the shortened one doesn't. Otherwise it's hard to tell it was sold.

Now about the Crosley auction, I can't tell what it is. The seller should have rules that only bids from anyone with more than 10 positive feedbacks will be accepted. That would end whatever this was. I bet payment was never received for it.
Jonathan

LarryInMichigan