News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

WE 233G with 685A SUBSET wiring questions - with diagram

Started by runamok, January 27, 2021, 12:36:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

runamok

Hi all! New member and first time poster!

Hopefully I'm posting this in the right section, if not many apologies.

I have a Western Electric 233G payphone that my grandfather passed down to me. He worked for Bell Telephone after WWII and I used to play with it as a child.  It has been in storage for many years and recently I decided to restore it to working order for my home.

I have never worked on a phone before so it's been a steep learning curve trying to figure out how all the components and wiring work, lol! None of the subset wiring or relay wiring was initially connected, but after reading some diagrams here on the forum, I've been making some progress. 

I think I have it wired correctly back to original specs, but I am looking to use it for home use. I presently can receive calls, speak and hear on the handset, and it rings, but when I dial out the dial tone stays on.

So here are my questions, any help is greatly appreciated:
1. Do I need to bypass the coin relay in some way? 
2. Or can the relay be wired/pegged open to make the dial circuit work? 
3. Is the the original local ground not used anymore?
4. Is the coin relay currently wired correctly? (see diagram).

I made this visual wiring diagram for myself as I'm terrible with conceptualizing components on line diagrams.. Thought it might be useful for others.. I can update it if there are errors or when we solve the problem. 

233G wiring diagram:

Phone pics for anyone interested:

Dissasembled for cleaning

Restored with new locks and cards

< edit 02-09-22 : externally linked images attached >

RB

No replies yet huh?
I think that there is a switch assoc with the coin relay, that does need to close to get dial tone.