News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Western Electric 410

Started by Waterland, April 13, 2012, 01:22:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Waterland

On my way through an occasional sale that I pass through every month, I saw this telephone sitting alone on a desk.  No price tag so I asked at the counter and they told me $28.  Sold.  I'm still relatively new to phone collecting so I thought it was a regular 302 at first, but I had never seen one with a switch for two lines before.  I did a little research and have found that is in fact a 410.  From what I understand, this is a fairly uncommon phone, not like the regular thermoplastic 302's. 

I'm very excited for this phone, I've been looking for a 302 or similar for a long time now, so I plan to have this restored to working order to use in my home as a regular telephone.  Overall it's in pretty decent condition; the finger wheel is bent but it turns smoothly, however, the action when it rotors back is kind of sticky.  The rubber cord on the handset is intact with no frays or kinks, as is the wall cord.  I'll have my phone guy look it over and restore it to its former glory for me.

I have attached a picture; I would love to hear comments on rarity of this phone, or how much these usually sell for.  I couldn't find any on ebay when I search for Western Electric 410, or any 410's erroneously labelled as 302's.

paul-f

Welcome to the forum and to phone collecting!

From your one photo, the phone seems to be in very nice condition.

I generally stay away from value discussions, as each price is a negotiation between buyer and seller.  Even on ebay prices for seemingly identical phones can differ by orders of magnitude on the same day.  Given the economic uncertainty over the last few years, prices have been all over the map.  A patient collector can usually find a bargain, even in relatively scarce phones.