News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

WE 302 Ivory

Started by George Knighton, December 02, 2012, 09:02:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

George Knighton

So far, so good.  The case came off with only a tiny bit of bother, and the insides look like they're in decent shape.

I'm going to have to replace both cords because they're frayed, but other than that....  I have a feeling that this thing is actually going to work when I plug it in, and I'm just going to have to worry about cleaning up the ivory thermoplastic.

:-)

I'm going to be asking some dumb questions because I'm very new at this, and I want this ivory 302 to work out right.
Annoying new poster.

George Knighton

This is the first 302 I've opened that's been this new.  Most of the phone says 1953, but the dial is 1952.

All my other 302 are much older.

This ivory seems to have some things I haven't seen before, like that extra big cylinder that I've no idea what it is, and whatever it is inside one of the bells.
Annoying new poster.

LM Ericsson

That "thing" inside the bell is a resonator. My Japanese OKI telephone has them.
Regards,
-Grayson

George Knighton

Thanks for the reply.

In this thread, I found out more about why Western Electric would add the big capacitor that is in my phone.  It evidently provides some extra ringer reliability for party lines and other power stealing situations, I suppose very long distances to the equipment or something.

http://www.classicrotaryphones.com/forum/index.php?topic=218.0
Annoying new poster.

poplar1

There was a discussion here recently about these non-WE capacitors.