"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Kellogg 1000 not dialing out

Started by Jimmy, February 20, 2010, 04:30:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jimmy

Hello all.  

This is a great and very informative forum.  I am new to the world of antique phones.  I have a restored fully functionally AE jukebox phone that I purchased on line a few years ago and really enjoy it.  At a recent auction, I found a Kellogg 1000 hc1 phone buried in a box lot of stuff and ended up winning the lot.  Now I am trying to get this phone in good working order.  As you see from the picture, the previous owner has replaced the original ringer, so this phone has already been tinkered with before I owned it.  Also, the previous owner, for whatever reason, painted the red line plunger black.  Don't know what they were thinking, the red line plunger is one of the coolest parts of this phone.

Here is what works.  I get a dial tone.  The phone rings  during an incoming call.  I am able to hear and to transmit voice over the phone.

Here is what doesn't work.  I am not able to dial out and will do my best to describe what is happening.  When dialing, the dial tone never goes away.  I first checked my phone line with the AE phone that I have.  I was able to dial out on the AE.  That rules out the phone line.  I have switched the polarity of the red and green incoming phone wires.  That would rule out the wiring from phone jack to phone.  I have rang out the four wire from the dialer to the four pin module that plugs into board in the phone.  Those are good.