News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Troubleshooting a Western Electric 554; no dial tone

Started by ehbowen, January 18, 2019, 02:45:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ehbowen

I just received an eBay special WE 554, physically in decent condition but sold 'as-is', and attempted connecting it to my wall-mount jack out in the garage. No dial tone. I verified that the jack was working properly and could dial out (under VoIP...Grandstream adapter, CallCentric service) with a known good WE 500. The handset works when connected to the 500, and the 500 still gets a dial tone when the 554 on the same line is off-hook, so the adapter isn't seeing the 554 at all. I'm new to telephone troubleshooting, but I do have a good multimeter available. What's my first step?

andy1702

It sounds like your 554 isn't going off-hook correctly. I'd say check the hook switch contacts are clean and moving as they should. If it's somehow stuck in the on-hook position the phone will appear dead. Can you try calling it from another phone? If the hook switch is stuck it will probably ring ok but you won't be able to answer, it will just keep ringing when you lift the handset.
Call me on C*net 0246 81 290 from the UK
or (+44) 246 81 290 from the rest of the world.

For telephone videos search Andys Shed on Youtube.

jsowers

Quote from: ehbowen on January 18, 2019, 02:45:42 PM