News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

WE302 Will not break dial tone

Started by jholland, January 03, 2014, 08:18:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jholland

I am brand new to all this so please bear with me as I try to get the terminology all correct.  A little research has shown that I have a WE302 phone.  It had three problems and I have since fixed 2 of them (1. others could not hear you, sanded down contacts in handset and bent some pins to align. 2. Ringer did not work.  Rewired phone per one of the diagrams here, both ringer wires were connected to ground??)

The third problem has me stumped, it will not break dial tone.  What I mean by this is the when I try to dial out it still has a dial tone as I dial numbers on it.  On occasion it will stop after the 3 or 4th number is dialed, but generally it has the dial tone at all times.  This, of course, prevents me from dialing out.   I do run a vonage VOIP device, but I tested another pulse dial phone on it and it worked fine.

Looking at the inside of the dialer, it appears to be a 5H (this is what is stamped on it in red)  I did slip a piece of sand paper in between each of the contacts and shaded lightly in hope that this might improve the contacts and get it working.  It did not. 

All the contacts appear to be working correctly.  When I dial on it the very bottom contact is lifted up and the second to bottom contact makes contact with a center post, a small cam then pulses the top contact on and off the correct number of times according to the number I dialed, after which the the two bottom contacts go back to their normal position.

Any suggestions on how to troubleshoot or fix this issue would be appreciated

thanks,
jeff

DavePEI