News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

How do I make my WE 302 ring?

Started by ddawson, March 29, 2014, 09:28:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ddawson

Let me start out by saying I am new to this and know very little about old phones. I have been digging through my dad's garage and have found many different rotary phones. I thought it would be cool to clean a few up and see if they work. Most of them do with exception of the ring. My dad says I need a straight line ringer but he has none to fit the phones. Any suggestions? Most of the phones are AE and Strosberg Carlson only a couple 302s

WesternElectricBen

Hi, and welcome.

To start off, if the phone is just wired incorrectly:

It looks like you need to move the black wire, at Terminal L2, to terminal K on the on mounting plate.

Simple Diagram: http://www.classicrotaryphones.com/forum/index.php?topic=816.0

Hope that helps,
Ben

ddawson

Ben, I wired it like  your diagram showed and still no ring. It did sound like it was trying to ring. I could hear a buzzing sound when it was supposed to be ringing. I appreciated your help but maybe it has other issues. Any more suggestions? I do have another one that I could swap ringers with.
Thank you for your help,
Darren

WesternElectricBen

Okay, so now it is wired correctly, your going to need to add a capacitor, so it has the correct voltage to ring the bells. It turns out your dad is right, and does need a straight line, but once again, with a cap it should work.

I'm not exactly sure on the MF you will need, but if you read the numbers off of the ringer, I'm sure someone like Poplar1 could help you find the right one.

Ben

ddawson

IT RANG! I Moved the bias tension spring to the center notch. Thanks for all your help.

Dennis Markham

Darren,