News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Northern Electric 302 - won't dial out

Started by canuckphoneguy, February 19, 2012, 08:59:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

canuckphoneguy

Hello everyone! This is my first post to this forum. I'm new to the phone collecting hobby and can tell that this is going to be a lifelong hobby for me.

I recently purchased a 1948 Northern Electric 302. Unfortunately, someone took out the ringer.

I am able to answer the phone and talk on it. It sounds great. The problem I'm having is I can't dial a number on it. The ringer is a bit sticky - could that be the reason?  When I dial a number, the dial tone continues.

I've looked over the wiring diagrams on this forum and to me, they look ok. But, I'm not an expert at all. I'll upload photos of the inside of my new old phone here. Maybe someone has other ideas that I could try.

The other thing that I thought might be the reason why it won't dial out is because of the splicing someone did of the original line wire to a newer grey wire to plug in to the jack.

Thanks for all of your help!

Dennis Markham

Hi Canuckphoneguy, welcome to the Forum.  I see a couple of things that COULD be a problem.

First, looking at the switch hook contacts.  They look awfully dirty.  There appears to be dust or something clinging to one of the contact points.  Try using some compressed air or some alcohol on a Q-tip to clean those contacts.

Secondly the red ringer wire (connected to terminal L1 almost looks like the spade tip is touching the spade tip on the yellow wire on terminal L2.  Speaking of that wire......

The yellow wire going (I think) from the condenser to terminal L2 looks like it's nearly broken where it attaches to terminal L2.  Check that.  If it's hanging by a thread, it may not be making a connection from the condenser.