News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

New Federal 1099-K reporting from PayPal (U.S.)

Started by Phonesrfun, February 12, 2012, 12:19:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Phonesrfun

I apologize for the length of this post.  If you don't sell a lot on e-bay then consider bypassing this post

Last week, Doug Rose told of getting a 1099-K in the mail from PayPal for things he sold through e-baY.  Vern Potter wrote me and asked if I could do some reading and give some information and some pointers on how to deal with this new reporting requirement the IRS has imposed.  If anyone sells a lot on e-bay, you might want to be aware of this new issue, although I think anyone who has received a 1099-K  for 2011 is now painfully aware of the new reporting requirements of PayPal.

I am an accountant, but I am not a licensed tax professional, so all I can offer is general guidance.  I cannot legally advise anyone on specific tax matters.

That being said, here are a few things to keep in mind while selling on e-baY and accepting payments through PayPal or other card processors, including Visa and MasterCard merchant accounts.  Visa and MasterCard merchants fall under the same reporting requirements.

The new reporting requirements went into effect under the name of Internal Revenue Code (IRC) 6050W.  You can Google that and get a lot of information. This new law now requires payment processors to issue a 1099-K to those who have received over $20,000 per year in payments.  PayPal has instituted this new procedure for any seller that exceeds both $20,000 in gross PayPal receipts (including shipping) and  200 separate transactions.  Since PayPal and e-baY are joined at the hip, you can expect that your e-baY sales that go through PayPal to be reported, along with any non-e-Bay sales also going through PayPal, providing they exceed the thresholds.