Started by Kenny C, June 23, 2010, 09:04:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kenny C

and here it is works absoultly great
In memory of
  Marie B.
1926-2010

McHeath

Wow cool!  When I showed it to my better and prettier half she said, and I quote, "Oh my God that's the one my folks had!"

Kenny C

it was made in 6-70 but it has no needle
In memory of
  Marie B.
1926-2010

AET

Very nice!  I love old console stereos!
- Tom

Dan

You can get the needles on line with a little searching. I recently replaced my turntable needle when I got a bundle of records @ a yard sale for 25 cents each.
"Imagine how weird telephones would look if our ears weren't so close to our mouths." - Steven Wright

jsowers

I can think of just one word to describe that one. Mediterranean.

Here's a place I see mentioned a lot on the antique radio-phono newsgroup I've been reading for years. I have no experience dealing with them. You will need to look on the cartridge to find the manufacturer name and then look it up from there. Or maybe take a picture of the needle and send it to them.

http://www.garage-a-records.com/

Here is my inheritance, or actually a picture of one just like it. It was a wedding present to my Uncle Don and Aunt Jane. A Grundig-Majestic, made about 1958. In lovely Danish Modern. If anything ever looked like the 1950s, this is it. Lots of blonde oak. In this one, the radio side has faded darker over the years, from being open. You can see the original lighter color on the phono side.

I love the Multi-Sonic tone controls, which consist of five thumbwheels in between all the pushbuttons that select AM, FM, SW and PU (phonograph in German). The wheels make these little notes go up and down on a lighted scale and all the notes are connected with a little plastic string. I was fascinated with it when I was a kid.