"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

stromberg carlson 1243 - dial tone, but nothing else

Started by goamules, October 08, 2014, 09:29:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

goamules

Hi all,
by way of introduction, I am a former Electronics Technician in the Navy.  It's been a long time, but I remember troubleshooting.  I also love antiques, and shoot antique wooden cameras with wetplate collodion, get old Coleman lanterns working, etc.  Anything old, I love!

My entry to this great forum is to ask for help.  I have a stromberg carlson 1243 I bought with clipped wires.  Cosmetically, all it needed was a little polishing, I used Mothers, followed by a good wax.  Here it is. 

When I bought it, I discovered the receiver and transmitter elements were missing.  So I bought another 1243 for parts.  Now, I've wired it according to the schematics found here, and got a dial tone.  So that works!  What doesn't:

1. I cannot hear my voice, so I'm thinking the transmitter is bad.  But I don't know how to check, I did put a multimeter on the element, and when I speak, I get resistance deflection.  I have wired the parts phone in to line and handset, and it gives the same symptom. I assume I should hear my voice in the earpiece, like a normal phone?

2. No ring.  I tried jumping the Line In Yellow and Green (read that here) to no avail.  The parts phone seemed to want to ring, when wired.  When I dialed from my cellphone, and picked up with the two disconnect buttons, it would do a quick ring....right when I picked up.  I have had that affect stop now though.  The "good" phone has no ring at all.

3.  No dialing.  I hear clicking when I dial a number, but it stays on a dialtone.  Nothing happens. 

I appreciate all you techs out there helping a former one....who never worked on phones!

Garrett 

tallguy58

Welcome to the land of information.