News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Dial Gasket Question For Metal 302

Started by DiaLen, November 28, 2014, 06:45:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DiaLen

I'm new at this rotary phone hobby/addiction and am tackling a metal 302.
I'd like to completely disassemble the shell so I can refinish it. However, I'm finding the dial gasket, which is normally rubber on the plastic phones I've taken apart, is a very brittle dried out caulk or leather on this phone.
Questions:
What is the old gasket on my phone? (It's so brittle I can't touch it without chipping it)
What should I use when reassembling it?
Thank you for any help you can give me.
Here's what I'm looking at:
Be faithful to the commitments of your life.

DiaLen

Thank you John, I appreciate it.
I'll go ahead with the disassembly and plan on getting a rubber gasket from ericofon.com.
The old gasket will just crumble when I remove the dial but hopefully there will be enough left to give me idea how the hardware goes together. I'm still a little confused about the grommets, screws, washers, escutcheons and so on that I read about but I'll figure it out.
-Len 

unbeldi

I have been disappointed with those types of "gaskets". They are just flat and thin rubber sheets cut to dimension, and do not have a grommet for the mounting screw holes. The grommet is necessary to be able to reuse the brass inserts. Without the grommet and insert, one has to use a washer to provide a surface to secure the screws and keep the dial in place.  One might as well simply cut a home-made gasket from card board. The effect is pretty much the same, not visible, but not an original looking refurbishment either, because of the washers.

Phonesrfun

-Bill G

dencins