News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Wanted, Wiring info for Western Electric 50AL candlestick to 634BA Sub

Started by Jf510, December 15, 2015, 04:15:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jf510

I have a 50AL candlestick with a 4H dial wired to a 634BA sub-box. It dials out and rings ok but when I dial the ringer rings and it makes a loud popping sound. I have tried to wire it a few different ways from past info I've seen on this blog but same results. It worked ok with a 5H dial but I wanted to exchange it with a 4H dial. I am stumped. I am a beginner in wiring telephones so can someone give me a simple diagram or wiring explanation on what wire goes to what terminal. My candlestick does not have that small terminal in the bottom just the dial. There is a strap on the back of the candlestick that runs from the W to BB. I removed it but still no difference.  I did strap the R to BB on the dial which I read in the blog but no difference. I have another 50AL that's exact to this one that I wanted to replace the 5H dial with a 2H dial and same situation. I must be doing something wrong. I am however pretty sure I have the sub-box wired correctly.  I did remove all the wires before taking the picture. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Jf510

I will switch the ringer leads and give it a try as for that schematic on the second link I have no clue on what's going on on the left side to be honest.

G-Man

I'm not sure what the "left side" is but you should reference the addendum on what wires in the sidetone deskstand's cord are connected to your antisidetone subset.  In this case the following connections should be made:
Deskstand Cord             -              Subset
         Yellow                    to               "L2Y"          
          Red                         to               "R"
         Green                     to              "GN"

Jf510