News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

ITT 2500 Delay when clicking hookswitch

Started by rtp129495, December 19, 2011, 10:58:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rtp129495

I know its not a rotary, but it is annoying. There is a delay in the phone when the hookswitch is quickly pushed. Its a 4-5 second delay. The the dialtone returns. Annoying because if your on a call and you accidently hit it lightly. The call is lost because the delay makes it think you meant to hangup. Does anyone here know how to bypass this problem/feature and make it work like a WE500 without the hookswitch delay? I am new to ITT stuff. and the wiring is slightly different.

Adam

A normal 2500 set should not do this, even one made by ITT.

Perhaps the set has a special feature designed to prevent switch hook flash.  I can see that a set with a special flash button might also be designed not to be able to flash via the switch hook.

Can you tell us the full number printed on the bottom of the set?  It will be something like:

250044(FBA)30M 788

Also, if we could see pictures of the inside of the set, we might be able to tell if you have some kind of special hardware inside the phone that is causing it not to function like a normal 2500.
Adam Forrest
Los Angeles Telephone - A proud part of the global C*Net System
C*Net 1-383-4820

Phonesrfun

I agree with Adam, in that until we see some specifics, all we can do is guess and surmise.

I do know that there are many phones out there that have been made in recent years that look like a 2500 on the outside, but contain electronics that allow for features not before present in the older models.

But, in order to really know, we need the kind of information Adam mentioned.
-Bill G

Phonesrfun

PS Regarding asking a touch tone question: