News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

KX-T206E good for kids' intercom with UK GPO 706, 746?

Started by ashley, June 21, 2013, 08:39:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ashley

Hello all...

I recently bought a box of five old rotary phones (UK GPO 706 and 746 units, I believe), hoping to make an intercom (local only, no external connection) to amuse my technically-minded 4yo son and friends.

I am a computer systems engineer by training and have experience meddling with digital stuff, but I'm a bit out of my depth with the analogue nature of these things.

I read several brilliant posts here about Panasonic 308 units from eBay, and that seems like the easiest way to set up a fun system for us.

But perhaps a second hand Panasonic KX-T206E might be better for our situation though: it seems a little smaller, and I'm hoping a little cheaper.  For example: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/221241795960?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649

I'd appreciate some advice.  I'm attaching an installation manual I found for the 206.

• Would a Panasonic KX-T206E work with our rotary phones?  (I'm thinking: make voice communication possible, ring the bells, allow extensions to be dialled.)  I see no mention of "loop disconnect dialling" in the manual, but perhaps it'll work anyway?
  • I think I saw a post about resetting a 308 to factory settings on this forum, but I don't see any similar feature for a 206 in the installation manual.  If I buy a second hand 206, is there a risk it might be configured into a state which won't work for us?