News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

How Many of you Collectors of Telephones are also in the Industry

Started by Doug Rose, September 15, 2013, 07:27:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Doug Rose

I have worked in the Industry for over 35 years and have collected phones for over 35 years. Coincidence?? Found my first manual 302 at a flea market for $8. When I got it working I was hooked. I always have an old phone on my desk at work. People are amazed that it works.

How many of you work in the telephone trades??....Doug
Kidphone

zaphod01

My grandfather worked for the phone company all his adult life. I grew up playing in the narrow aisles of the local exchange (FEderal). Every tool he had, and all the ones he gave me, were marked Western Electric. I'm sure he 'borrowed' these.

He was a self taught electrical engineer with a sixth grade education. He designed the circuit that allowed the phone company to test a line without taking it out of service. I have a copy rolled up in a tube around here somewhere. Another copy hung in the lobby of 1 Bell Plaza. They paid him in stock which turned out to be a great source of income in his retirement.

I've been working in IT for the last 35 years and it has involved lots of phone interaction. I started out working with 300 baud acoustical modems and DAA's. You weren't allowed to connect directly to the Bell phone line when I started in 'Data Processing' in 1978.

What a change over the years!
"Things are never so bad they can't be made worse." - Humphrey Bogart

southernphoneman

I am not but I want to apply for a job with my local carrier, which is Centurylink.

baldopeacock