News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

New member from Manitoba, Canada

Started by CanadianGuy, January 01, 2015, 10:39:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CanadianGuy

Hi everyone, I'm a contractor for MTS, our incumbent phone company. I've seen a fair amount of stuff in my travels at work, from vintage payphones, wooden phones, many of the colored rotary's (sorry, not familiar with their models yet), some lamp phones, and even what looked like some old mechanical selectors from a central office stuffed in a box.

I'm not too interested in collecting, but would love to eventually have maybe one of each type. I have even seen some vintage phones or equipment inside the central offices that I sometimes go into. As a contractor, it doesn't happen often. I'm amazed they even have some old cordboard test equipment on the wall in one CO. I don't know if they're ever planning to remove them, but I would LOVE to get one! I have pics of some of the stuff I've seen, and will try and post them soon.

I have a real interest in the old phone system, before it all went digital (boring!) I've read Exploding The Phone by Phil Lapsley, which is about phone phreaks. I just bought the audiobook through iTunes. It's narrated by one of the phone phreaks who used to record his experiments on the phone system. I'm sure many people would laugh at this, but I presume as telephone collectors that you understand :)

I wish I had more disposable income so that I could offer to buy some of the stuff I come across, although that might seem rude seeing as how I'm there to install or repair their phone, TV or internet. One young guy had just bought this house that had a red rotary wall phone that was IMMACULATE, but I'm sure he didn't think much about it. He didn't even have home phone service!

Anyway, I don't want to ramble on.

Thanks!

rbouch

well,
welcome,