News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Damaged AE40

Started by Telephone Mike, May 24, 2012, 12:24:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Telephone Mike

Can anyone tell me if there is any hope for this?  I got this phone on Ebay and when it arrived was in this condition.  I contacted the seller and he said it was not broken when he sent it and was good enough to refund my money and agreed to let me keep it "as is".  I guess the question is, can bakelite be repaired or should I look for another case.  Does anyone here have a case for sale?

Thanks for looking,

Mike

AE_Collector

Unfortunately smashed in side grills and/or a crack usually running from under the dial to the lower edge of the housing is the most common damage to AE 40's. It is a crime when people don't pack phones properly because as they say "They don't make these anymore".

Repair is possible but I'm no expert. Best bet is to very carefully look for all the pieces as they must all be there somewhere. A reasonable repair can be done by gluing it back together. There are threads here on the forum covering patching (reproducing) bakelite but in the area of the side grills on an AE 40 is probably the toughest area to tackle.

I would buy another one watching for one with chrome next time and if you can't find all the parts to glue this one back together you will eventually be able to use the handset, dial, straight line ringer (if that is what it has) and maybe the carry bar on other AE projects.

How was it packed? Looks as though it might have been the handset that knocked the grills out?

See this thread:
http://www.classicrotaryphones.com/forum/index.php?topic=3690.0

Terry

LarryInMichigan