News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Refinished my 634A subset

Started by Bill, March 14, 2011, 05:30:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bill

Several months ago, I bought a 634A in a Junque Shoppe. Since I am getting ready to connect it to my B1 base, and since it looked pretty ratty, I decided to refinish the case. And since I was in the process, I decided to experiment a bit, and try black Appliance Epoxy instead of standard gloss or semigloss black enamel paint. I have very little experience refinishing anything, so I didn't expect it to look showroom new, and it doesn't. But it was interesting.

The first pic shows the unit as I bought it. At some point in the distance past, an uneven layer of gloppy black paint had been put on. Later the unit took a lot of wear, which abraded it through the paint, through the copper, and down to the underlying steel. Some miscellaneous beige paint splats accentuated the look.

My first task was to remove most of the gloppy paint with several sessions of old-fashioned methylene chloride stripper. Yuck, what a mess! When most of it was gone, I dry-sanded with some 150 grit, then wet-sanded with 400. The second pic shows the result. The beige paint splats are gone, and the metal is smooth to the touch, though not to the eye, which was a mistake. Inevitably, more of the copper has been exposed.

Then a couple coats of gray automotive primer, as shown in the third pic. Why automotive? I happened to have a can of it on hand. I did not sand after the primer - probably should have - but this is a subset, right?

Finally about four thin coats of the Appliance Epoxy. It went on reasonably well, although some surface imperfections (due to not-quite-complete glop removal and insufficient sanding) telegraphed through.