News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Cleaning a Western Electric 9c dial (and cleaning cords)

Started by bellsystemproperty, October 26, 2009, 10:31:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bellsystemproperty

Recently I found a good Western Electric 500 in the trash. It works, but the dial is sticky. It's a 9c dial from 2-72. How should I clean it? I'm kinda scared to open it because I don't want to hurt the phone anymore, but I can visibly see dirt in the gears. It's already had a hard life, and i must give it a break by helping it. This is my first refirb, but I hope to get the phone nice and clean again. If you have any pictures, they would be useful since I am a noob.

btw- the phone has a hardwired handset cord. Is there a specific way I should clean it? It is straight, but filthy dirty.

Phonesrfun

Straight cords are the easiest to clean.  You can use almost anything to clean them with , including 409 and even running them through the dishwasher.  I usually finish mine with a coating of Armorall.  If the phone is dated 1972, I am surprised it has a straight handset cord.  Maybe its an earlier phone that has a later replacement dial dated 1972

The dial can be cleaned too.  Does your 1972 9c have plastic gears or metal?  WE was transitioning to plastic around that time.  If you are hesitant to get in and take it apart, you may consider sending it to someone who does dial cleaning and lubing.  I do my own, but I have done many of them and I got over my angst a long time ago, but I screwed one or two up along the way.
-Bill G

bellsystemproperty

Phonesrfun