News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

OMG!! Soft plastic!!

Started by LM Ericsson, July 27, 2012, 11:33:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LM Ericsson

I bought this nice 500 at an antique store on my summer vacation to Asheville, NC. I had gone to the same antique store back in '09 and this year I thought to my self "I wonder if that nice aqua blue phone is still at that antique store''. Sure enough the day I went to that antique store it was still there. I studied it and saw that the coiled cord was fat, no holes in the centres of the reciever and transmitter caps, and leather feet. I took the cover off of the phone and saw no year molded in the little circle, but the date of the phone stamped on the front inside the housing. I also tapped on the housing taken off and had the nice soft sound, not the "clunk clunk"of the hard plastic. The phone also had one of those fancy aluminum covers on the handset and a nice matching color four prong on the line cord. Every component in the phone are all from '58. I paid $55 on the phone but I think it was worth it. This is the first time I found a soft plastic 500 and in my favorite color at an antique store!!!
Regards,
-Grayson

LM Ericsson

More pics...
Regards,
-Grayson

AE_Collector

Nice find! Put it in the FInd of the Month for July so we can see what everyone else thinks!

Terry

Greg G.

$55 was a good buy considering the same phone would have been closer to $70+ on ebay when you include the cost of shipping, not to mention the risk of it being poorly packed.
The idea that a four-year degree is the only path to worthwhile knowledge is insane.
- Mike Row
e

jsowers

That's a great find in an antique store--and three years after you first saw it. It's amazing it was still there. Congratulations! But be warned, once you get one, you're going to want more. This one should clean up nicely.