"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

B1....rare dial?

Started by John S, October 10, 2009, 04:14:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

John S

Hello..

I picked up a nice B1 and an antique shop yesterday...and the dial is very strange.  I never seen one like this before. Has anyone anyone seen a dial like this before?  There are letters on half of the numbers. Numbers 1,2,3,4, and 8 have no letters.  5, 6, 7, 9, and zero have letters on them.  Its a nice phone...decent shape.  The headset has a crack on it.  Here are some pics.......

John

foots

I'm no where near an expert but I think that phone was on a party line, hence the letters. If its not too personal, how much did you pick this phone up for?
"Ain't Worryin' 'Bout Nothin"

McHeath

I've never seen a dial plate like that, but I'm no expert.  Weird that they would make one like that.  It's a very interesting phone for that reason alone, methinks. 

John S

I paid 30 bucks for it....I love the old phones....Most of my collection are pre 40's......It was sold "AS IS".  I  guess the dealer had no idea, so I took it for 30 bucks....Its a bit more than I pay for phones....but I think it really looks cool.  It has all the wire clips attached to the wall cord. 

bingster

That's a party line dial plate, as Foots mentioned.  Party line numbers often ended in a letter, such as "559-J" or "12-317-R."

Incidentally, $30 for a B mount is definitely the steal of the day.  Congratulations!
= DARRIN =

Phonesrfun

John:

The B1 is not all that common, but you can find them out there in antique shops and on E-Bay, so some would not call that rare, but definitely rare in the sense that they don't show up in every day life.