News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Not your usual flea market find...

Started by AdamAnt316, June 02, 2010, 07:53:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AdamAnt316

Hello everyone! I've been collecting old phones for several years now. Most of my phones have come from yard sales and flea markets; some have been hits (my '40s metal 302 for $20), a few have been misses (a WE 315H subset for $75, unfit for use with a 202, as intended). However, one of the phones I picked up recently may be my best find yet...

A few months back, I was digging around at one of the local flea markets, when I spotted a couple of phones in the corner of an otherwise-nondescript stall. One was a 2554, in beat-up condition. The other one, however, was something I'd never seen in the flesh, only read about online: a beige Western Electric model 660A1 Card Dialer!

As discovered, it had no punch cards to go with it, but it did have a WE 2012B transformer attached to the line cord (rather than the standard 2075A type; does anyone have a spare?). I found the seller, and asked him how much he wanted for the phone. He said, "Well, I'm trying to get rid of the stuff in that corner, so I'll let it go for a buck." Sold! ;D I asked if he had any of the cards that go with it, but he said no. Still, I figured I'd probably done OK. When I checked eBay, I discovered that a non-working touchtone Card Dialer had recently sold for $135... :o

When I got around to checking it out, I discovered that someone, for some reason, had removed the ringer somewhere along the line. ??? I also discovered that, when plugged in, it refused to go on-hook. I made some inquiries on the TCI list, and discovered that Paul Fassbender lived not too far away from me. I brought the Card Dialer to his house, and we proceeded to look it over in his shop.