"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

HP Thin Client Project

Started by DavePEI, November 02, 2013, 08:17:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DavePEI

Hi All:

I have begun a new VOIP project, building another tandem VOIP server for my system. My intention is to detail it on-line from start to finish to help others going through the same process. I will detail several ways of doing it, and not only the way I chose myself, so you will get somewhat of a grounding in all ways.

How I wish there had been such a resource back when I started out. I am not an expert, but will share the knowledge that I have myself in the hope that it helps someone!

I am converting an HP t5730 Thin Client into an asterisk tandem server as a back-up machine for my C*Net connection. I picked up a t5730 for $50 plus shipping, and have ordered but not received an expansion kit for it for $50 plus shipping. The computer itself arrived yesterday.

The t5730 has an AMD Sempron 2100+ processor running at 1 ghz., and 1 gig of ram and a 1 gig flash memory. the t5730 is shipped with Windows XP embedded on it. Thin clients do not have a hard drive - they were meant as a basic computer for retail networking applications. They do have an advantage in size; a footprint of about the size of a sheet of paper and low power needs - 2.4 amps for the t5730. They have no cooling fan, taking advantage of the low power dissipation of the machine. They are ideal for wall mounting.