News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Wiring Problem on 102, or is it a 202 ??

Started by Larry, August 12, 2015, 10:49:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Larry

This is my first attempt at restoring an old telephone.  As currently wired, the dial tone does not stop when dialing a number, and the hookswitch does not disconnect the line when pushed down.  Here's a picture of the way it's wired.  Notice that there is a green lead that is cut, and the handset cord being used has red, black, and white leads.  Is this a 102 or 202 configuration?  Any idea about the problem with dial tone?

Larry

unbeldi

Quote from: Larry on August 12, 2015, 10:49:08 PM
This is my first attempt at restoring an old telephone.  As currently wired, the dial tone does not stop when dialing a number, and the hookswitch does not disconnect the line when pushed down.  Here's a picture of the way it's wired.  Notice that there is a green lead that is cut, and the handset cord being used has red, black, and white leads.  Is this a 102 or 202 configuration?  Any idea about the problem with dial tone?

Larry
Well, it was a 202 until that green wire got cut. Undoubtedly it once belonged to the mounting cord on the left side.  All the other wires appear in the correct positions.  Since you are planning on using this as a 102, you only need a three conductor cord and you can use the black wire of the mounting cord to replace the broken green one.  Simply move the black from the dial over to the terminal where green is now.  On the subset end of the cord, you connect the black wire to the GN terminal, or it's equivalent label "4".

I see that the cords leads are not of great quality anymore, the rubber insulation has crumbled, so you will have to find out if this cord is still good enough to be used.  Hopefully, the other end is usable too.  So,  black (GN) to 4, red (R) to 2, yellow (Y) to L2.