News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

What made you start collecting Telephones!

Started by Doug Rose, February 20, 2010, 12:06:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Doug Rose

I have been collecting telephones for over thirty years. I also have been working in the telephone industry for the last 30 + years. My ex wife and I were walking through a flea market and there on a blanket was a manual Western Electric 302 for $5, just begging me to take him home. I got it for $3 and was one happy dude. What would now take minute, then took me hours then I got it working through trial and error. AND I mean trial and error.  I thought I was the only one whoever thought of doing this. It sat in my living room and everyone who came over remarked about it. These  were the days long before cell phones and we would wait for a call. Or call someone to call me back to make that phone ring!  From opening that 302, I caught the telephone flu and have never been able to shake it....Doug
Kidphone

AET

You know, it's a funny thing.  I am just into retro/vintage in general.  I wanted a rotary phone for my room to go along with all the other old crap in here.  I bought one, it was yellowed, so I bought another one which was near mint, and then I bought another one because it was a good deal. 

I said to myself, well, now I have enough for when I move out to have a couple in my apartment, including the 554 I knew was in a box in my garage somewheres.  Well, I came here looking for some info and 30 phones later, here I am!!!
- Tom

Dan/Panther

I've not been a serious collector for as long as I been fascinated by phones. Just the design, and quality, and variations have always interested me.
If I ever get my hands on the person that got me started collecting though...
D/P

The More People I meet, The More I Love, and MISS My Dog.  Dan Robinson

foots