News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

AT-8629 Probe

Started by LarryInMichigan, February 29, 2012, 04:15:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LarryInMichigan

I was given an item today which has the Bell System logo and "AT-8629".  DavePEI has a picture of one on his website: http://www.islandregister.com/phones/co.html.  Mine has a flat tip on it.  I have no interest in it and no idea of what it is worth.  Is anyone interested in this?  Can someone give me an idea of its value?

Thank You

Larry

sebbel

I think that is wire tracer. You'd use is to track active cable in a lager installation. I haven't use that one but I work as a systems administrator and we use similar ones to diagnose connection problem between phone/computer and the patch panels.

New ones go for about 70 - 300$ that one doesn't appear to be old enough to have any historical value. Id guess it would be worth about 50-75$

I might be way off....
Seb.

DavePEI

Quote from: LarryInMichigan on February 29, 2012, 04:15:38 PM
I was given an item today which has the Bell System logo and "AT-8629".  DavePEI has a picture of one on his website: http://www.islandregister.com/phones/co.html.  Mine has a flat tip on it.  I have no interest in it and no idea of what it is worth.  Is anyone interested in this?  Can someone give me an idea of its value?

Thank You

Larry

Hi Larry:
First of all for those who haven't see a description:

"AT-8629 Test Probe (left) - used in conjunction with the WE-145A to conduct pair identification using the tones generated by the set. Often called a banana. A butt set was clipped to the probe, and proximity to the wire fed with the tone would give an audible indication, allowing it to be easily identified. This tool is powered by an Eveready 206, NEDA 1611 - 9 volt tubular battery,