News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Gray payphone questions

Started by wds, December 17, 2013, 09:20:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

wds

I'm watching this Payphone on Ebay - I don't currently have any phones to compare this one to, and I'm wondering if it is worth the money.  Is this authentic, and/or what is it worth?  I would like to buy this one, but I don't want to over spend.

http://tinyurl.com/l6k9sck
Dave

HarrySmith

I was looking at that one too. I am far from a paystation expert but one thing that caught my eye as wrong is the coin return bucket. I believe they just had an open hole for coin return.
Harry Smith
ATCA 4434
TCI

"There is no try,
there is only
do or do not"

Haf

Coin chute seems AE same as coin return bucket, I'm not sure about transmitter but have doubts, not much original left inside, coin slot don't look like pre 50s, instruction card seems to be photocopied and that's only a quick look over - I wouldn't buy.

Haf
Telephone:
0049-030-55474418
1-415-449-4743
1-604-757-7474

wds

thanks.  I'm surprised that internal parts are so interchangeable between WE and AE (and Gray).  I just noticed that there doesn't seem to be any wires going to the transmitter.
Dave

poplar1

Coin chute has transmitter to pick up sound of gongs; this transmitter isn't needed when the transmitter for talking is mounted on the front of the phone. Also has nickel grabber for 10c service. Single coil coin relay is much too new for this phone, not to mention the Teltronics circuit board. Coin gauge on top is not the original cast one. Can't tell if the transmitter mount is 10A or 8A--the 10A mounts from the inside of the phone.
"C'est pas une restauration, c'est une rénovation."--François Martin.

tallguy58

Not to be too finicky about this, but I'm always suspect of someone selling a phone that doesn't even know how to hang up a receiver properly.