News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Troubleshooting PTT Ericsson 1951

Started by Telephoner123, February 23, 2015, 03:20:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Telephoner123

I'm new at this and thought a good place to start would be a PTT model 1951 that I inherited from my grandfather.  It has a lot of static and the bell won't ring for incoming calls.  It doesn't have any obvious problems inside.  I tested the wires in the wall cord with a multimeter and they ranged from 6-11 ohms.  I don't know if that's OK.  The cord to the handset looked OK so I didn't bother testing those.  I also cleaned some of the contacts and hit the handset a few times to loosen the carbon (as recommended in another post).  But none of this helped.  The other posts I saw for this phone were too technical for me.

Any suggestions? 

Matilo Telephones

Hi there, congratulations on your Ericsson type 1951.

It does not ring, probably because you need to make a connection/bridge between the EW terminal (yellow) and A.

Which one those are, depends on which version you have. They come in 2 different configurations, with regards to the terminals.

It should be either 9 yellow (EW) and 10 blue (A) ir 10 blue (A) and 11 yellow.

Is there diagram inside?
Groeten,

Arwin

Check out my telephone website: http://www.matilo.eu/?lang=en

And I am on facebook too: www.facebook.com/matilosvintagetelephones

LarryInMichigan

My experience is that most of the transmitter capsules in those phones are noisy.  No amount of banging or tapping on them helps.  What may help is connecting a resistor (anywhere between 300 and 800Ω in parallel with the transmitter to shunt some of the current away from it.  I have had to do this on many European phones because their transmitters cannot handle the amount of current which flows through them when connected to my phone line.

Larry

LarryInMichigan