News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Removing House Paint off of a Clear Phone

Started by Doug Rose, March 17, 2012, 03:55:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Doug Rose

The body seems to be in really nice shape except one side has thick paint from a really sloppy painter. I can only imagine what the rest of the room looked like! Any Idea how to get it off without damaging the clear phone? I want to put it on a Western base....thanks...Doug
Kidphone

Dennis Markham

Doug, I have no experience with clear phones.  But to remove house paint off other phones I've worked on I have let the housing soak in warm, sudsy water.  I start out with the water luke-warm and then increase the temperature after the housing adapts to the water temperature.  Meaning, don't put a room temperature housing in very hot water.  It just might crack.

After it's soaked long enough for the water to cool, usually the paint will come off with a sponge or a finger nail.  Now the finger nail on clear plastic MAY scratch, so do it carefully.  Then using Novus2 and hand rubbing the plastic,  polish quick enough to create heat from the friction of the rag against the plastic, it usually all comes off.

I suppose there are some solvents that may remove the paint.  Assuming it's ABS plastic, a solvent like Easy-off oven cleaner may work without damaging the plastic.  Someone else may have an idea for solvent use.

JorgeAmely

Doug:

It is time for the SPCRPSP people to take a look at this. It is time to draw a line on the sand.  :o :o :o
Jorge

Doug Rose

thanks Dennis...I'll give it a try

Jorge....Jameson or Bushmills?  Happy St Patricks Day to you as well....Doug
Kidphone

JorgeAmely

Doug:

SPCRPSP = Society for the Prevention of Cruelty against Rotary Phones by Sloppy Painters.
Jorge

AE_Collector

DavePEI

Hi All: