"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Directions for a poor noob...

Started by Stuntman Stu, March 10, 2009, 07:37:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Stuntman Stu

Hi all,

I'm totally new to telephone restorations and would like to get some direction befroe I screw up too too much.

I have a North Electric Galion as well as a French PTT 29 (without the ringer box). The PTT 29 will require some specialized knowledge of European phones so let's put that aside for now. Note that neither of them works when plugged to the phone lines.

First, can anyone recommend good Internet or book reading on how to start in telephone restoration. I would like the Galion, and somedau the PTT as well, to be working telephones in my house.

Next, based on the recommendations found here, my first order of business was to start diagramming, and separating the pieces of the Galion for cleaning. Problem is, while dissassembling the dial off the body, I dissassembled the hook circuit. I now have no idea how they fit back together. I have eight little insulator blocks and the four leaf connectors (not even sure if this is the right term). While I do know the order of the leaf connectors, I'm not sure how many insulator blocks are supposed to fit between each leaf.

Any help would be appreciated.

First person to answer will get pestered with a lot more questions.  ;)

HobieSport

bingster

Hobie's right, ya know.   ;D

Let me pull my North and take a picture of the contacts.
= DARRIN =

bingster

I'm hoping your metal contacts are still roughly in the same position so they can go back in the correct order.  The wires leading to mine have faded, so it's difficult to tell which one would go where.  However, you can clearly see the arrangement of the fiber spacers:
= DARRIN =

Stuntman Stu

Quote from: HobieSport on March 10, 2009, 08:52:26 PM
Sir, you are doomed.  Welcome.

LMAO!